Tags

, , , , , ,

My girls are nuts.  Without question.  My oldest daughter says the craziest things some days.  I have been threatened that if I don’t keep a journal of “Paige-isms”, as they’ve come to be known, I will be harmed bodily.  And I’m sure my youngest, Allie, who’s 2, will have some doozies down the road in the not too distant furtue.  This is my own place to keep all those crazy conversations.  I hope you find my kids as comical as I do.

This morning, I brought up the prospect of church to my oldest daughter, Paige, who’s currently 6.

“You know…Daddy and I have been talking, and we have decided that we think it would be a great idea if we all started going to church.”

I was brought up strict Catholic, but it’s been about 10 years since I’ve stepped foot in a church for something other than a baptism, a wedding or a funeral.

Paige solemnly shook her head no.

“Why not?” I questioned.  This is a topic we’ve brought up between us before, and she’s always been very open to the idea of going to church.

“Because church is boring for a big girl like me.”

“Where did you hear THAT from?”

“Nowhere.”

I paused.  I don’t want to DRAG her, kicking and screaming.  God knows I always was as a child.  It didn’t not make for a very good relationship between me and the church.

“Well…” I started, “I’ve always found church to be a great place to pray for the ones I love, ask for help with things I need, and to ask for forgiveness for the things I’ve done wrong.”

“At night, Daisy always gets up on my bed.”  Daisy is our 8 month old chocolate lab.  She’s like a third child.  “I always try to kick her off.  And on the nights I finally get her off my bed, I always say, ‘God help me.'”

That’s not QUITE the kind of help I had in mind!  Some days it’s all I can do to not laugh out loud.

