Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Paige….dawdles.  No, scratch that.  Paige just can’t hold a thought.  She on her way to do one thing, and inevitably, something else catches her eye.  So, telling her to put her shoes on in the morning usually needs 3-5 repeatings.

One morning, a couple of weeks ago, we were doing our usual morning scramble around the house trying to get ready in time for the bus.

I remember telling Paige to go brush her teeth.  I vaguely recall reading the newspaper.  Maybe that’s why I also lost a large portion of time.

Next thing I know, I look up at the clock, and this kid has now been in the bathroom for TEN minutes.  And God only knows what she’s doing in there.

I yell out, “Paige!  Did you brush your teeth yet?”

“No!” comes the reply.

“Paige, you have been in there for TEN minutes!!  What the crap are you DOING in there?!”

“Maybe YOU should be a little more patient,” she yelled back through the door.

God only knows what had been happening in that bathroom, but I did hear the whir of the electric toothbrush shortly after that.

I knew my own words would come back to bite me in the butt one day.

