I will not go into my bad day yesterday.  Because, who really needs to hear that?  I will leave it only at, by 9:00 am, the puppy had already tunneled out of the yard, under the fence, into the neighbor’s yard, and, like the lab that she is, took a nice cool dip into their fish pond.

I am horrified by the puppy’s behavior, but I also would’ve given anything to be a fly on their wall when they looked out their back window and saw something much bigger than a fish splashing around in their pond.

It was a day that went from bad, to worse, to worst.  But at the end of the day, I made some brownies in the oven, and poured myself a glass of wine.  So it’s not a total loss.

In unrelated news, I was reading a book to Miss Paige at bed time the other night.  “Bartholomew and the Oobleck” by Dr. Seuss.  That Seuss sure can write an interesting book.  If you haven’t read this book, it’s about a king who is tired of rain, snow, fog and sun coming down from his sky.  He demands his magicians make something different come down.  His page-boy, Bartholomew, warns him it’s a bad idea, but he doesn’t listen.  Oobleck comes down from the sky instead the next day, which is a green, gluey, icky, sticky…goop.  And it glues everything into place.  And Bartholomew is MAD.  He yells at the king.  I am reading the line, “Bartholomew looked the king square in the eye…” and I notice Paige is pulling at her left eye.

She has recently had some problems with a sty on her eye.  I stopped mid story.  “What are you doing?  Are you okay?  Is your eye okay?”

“My eye feels FINE,” she scoffed.  Clearly, I was the one with the malfunction.

“Then WHAT are you doing?!” I asked.

“I’m making a square….well, a rectangle, actually.”

“Why?”  Paige does not think in clear answers.  You usually have to dance around a subject for a while to get an idea of what she’s thinking.

“You SAID Bartholomew looked the king SQUARE in the eye.”

So I did…

