Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I was against the baby talking from the beginning.

We already have one girl.  And she started talked when she was six months.  No one has gotten a word in edgewise since.

So, when Allie was a late talker, I was not bothered, nor concerned.

“I can’t believe she’s not talking better,” my husband would comment.

“Please, don’t rush it.  Once they START, they have no off button.”  As the stay-at-home Mom, you should believe everything I tell you about the kids.

And besides, Paige did so much talking, how could Allie possibly interject anything?  I swear, Paige talks just to hear the sound of her small, chirping voice.  I have literally listening to her talk for 30 minutes about the same three sentences, with the words placed in every manner possible.  Whatever keeps her talking…

But eventually, Paige went off to school, leaving just me and Thing 2 to patrol the house all day.  Miraculously, the longer Paige was away, the more Allie found her voice.

And, as feared, there’s no off button.

I must hear my name a trillion times a day.  “Mom, Mommy, Mama, you there…”  So it’s not uncommon for the kids to hear back, “There’s no one here by that name,” or, “She’s just left, sorry you missed her.”

But one day, in the car, my lovely husband, the two kids and I, were off on some adventure.  Allie, now the owner of a voice, was chirping away in the back seat.  If Paige tried to talk over her, Allie just talked louder to drown out Paige.  Turns out Paige isn’t a fan of that game.

“Sissy, sissy, sissy, sissy, sissy,” Allie chanted in the back seat.

“Whaaat?!” Paige grumbled.

“Ush buffle flee greep,” Allie said back.  Allie usually has nothing that immediately needs to be shared, she just likes saying the words that she knows well.  A lot.  “Sissy,” happens to be one of those words.  A lot of her speech, though coming together daily, is still garbled and unknown.  Sometimes I think she should come equipped with subtitles.  And sometimes I wonder if the Germans have sent her.

“Ugh,” Paige retorted.  “Just leave me ALONE!”

Ah, sisterly love.  I’m sure the best friend-like bracelets I got them for Christmas, one that says Big Sister and one that says Little Sister will go over well.

“Sissy, sissy, sissy, sissy, sissy,” Allie continued.

“I’m not here.  Leave a message after the beep.  Beep.”

And that’s when I realized I probably say THAT too my children too often.

