Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

The elections are tomorrow.  Just in case you’ve been living under a rock and you needed some reminding.

One of the questions on the ballot in my state is for Physician Assisted Suicide.  And no, I’m not going to get into a big political debate because you’re allowed your opinions and I am allowed mine.

Anyway, we have recently started to go to church with my oldest daughter.  I’m not sure my youngest could walk through the doors of the church without combusting.  I bet you can imagine which side of this issue the church stands on.

The sermon this week started with the priest talking about the implications of voting in physician assisted suicide.  Then he said, “We have a message from our bishop that we’d like you to listen to.”

He had a small black clicker in his hand that he seemed to fiddle with for a second before a booming voice came through the church’s speaker system.  I sneaked a look at Paige and she was sitting back, scanning the church, but otherwise, behaving.  Church is HARD for a six-year-old to sit through.

I sat and listened to the bishop talk us through Question 2, and I’ll admit, I kinda let my mind wander off a little.

And then Paige leaned over to whisper in my ear.

“Sooooo……do you think that’s a ghost talking?”

I stifled my laughter behind my hand.

“No, seriously,” she continued.  “Because I’ve looked around, and I can’t see anyone else talking.”

She’s great for entertainment.

 

