Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I awoke to the morning news this morning, that Kayne West and Kim Kardashian have named their child North.  North West. 

Dear Lord.  Does nobody monitor birth records? 

Of course, mention made of this on facebook, came the reminder of my own name.

Thirty years ago, my parents had a wonderful, fabulous daughter that they gifted with the middle name Tajma. 

Most people don’t even know how to pronounce that until it’s paired with my maiden name.  Hall.  Tajma Hall.  Taj mahal.  Yes.  My parent’s did that.  They wanted Tajma to be my first name, but thankfully, I have other family members that cared for me, and my metal wellness. 

North West got me to thinking about my own children’s name.  Fortunately for them, their parents love them and did not name them something like Tajma Hall.  Their last name is Briggs, and they have the very pretty first names of Paige and Allie. 

After this morning though, I’m thinking about going down to city hall and seeing what I can do about changing those.  To maybe London and Brooklyn.  London Briggs.  Brooklyn Briggs.  Come on.  It’s awesome. 

I was also reminded on facebook, by family, how much worse my name could’ve been, had I been a boy.  If I had been a boy, it was a toss up between two names.  Hugh Hall (U-Haul) or Alca Hall.  Yes.  I could’ve been Alca.  Then I could’ve really known the meaning of problems. 

Thankfully, a family pet got that name instead of the first (and only) child in the family.  Every month, when the cramping and mood swings begins, I remind myself of the reason I am obscenely lucky to be a girl. 

My kids got lucky.  North, however, did not. 

Tell me I’m not alone here.  What crazy name did you end up (or almost end up) with?

