Tags

, , , , , , ,

My child gets infinitely funnier every school year with the influence of other children. 

Yes, apparently, the school system taught my daughter how to cross her eyes.  That’s the kind of learning you can’t get from home schooling. 

When Paige returned home on the bus, as is our daily school routine, I immediately had her sit and do her homework.    Usually she’s very good, timely and orderly about getting her homework done.  It never takes her more than five or ten minutes.  Yesterday, she was kind of day-dreamy and squirmy. 

I was filtering through her folder for the mountains of paper that teachers now feel the need to send home on a daily basis, and Paige suddenly turned to me.  Her eyes were stretched wide and filled most of her small, narrow face.  “Am I doing it?”  she asked.

I didn’t have to ask what she was attempting to accomplish (and poorly, might I add).  Somehow I knew.  Good ol’ mother’s instinct. 

“Um, no.”  I tried to keep a straight face.  I believe the correct thing to say is, “Your face is going to stay like that, you know!”  But the corners of my mouth were traitorous and my smirk only spurred her into continuing her eye-crossing goal. 

She turned to look in the mirror behind her.  And then her eyes crossed.  Naturally, the second they crossed, she lost sight of herself in the mirror.  So she turned back to me. 

“Am I doing it?!” 

I smiled this time, knowing she could see nothing but the tip of her nose, and said, “Yes.  Now can we PLEASE continue on with our homework?”  I had the good sense to sound slightly exasperated. 

She was so proud of herself, and instantly returned to her homework, now satisfied that she could…what?  Compete in some school yard eye crossing contest? 

I’m hoping she comes away from second grade with more life skills such as multiplying and cursive instead of just eye-crossing.

