Tags

, , , , ,

It never fails.  When I’m in the middle of doing something that can’t be done with another task the kids need something.

Monday morning, I was watching Paige at the bus stop.  Which is a fancy way of saying the end of my driveway.  I obviously don’t want my seven year old standing out there unattended, and usually watch from the door, since I’m not together enough to actually be dressed by 8:00 am.

A few minutes before the bus arrived, Allie had a demanded, “Mama!  I want a bagel!”

“Well, you’re going to have to wait a few minutes.  We have to wait until sister gets on the bus.”

This explanation was good for about thirty-five seconds. “Mom, I want a bagel, please!”

“You’re going to have to wait!” I sang back to her in the same sing-song manner she had requested.

“Mom.  Bagel.”  She was all done being polite and now barking orders at me.

“Allie, how many hands do I have?” I yelled, as the bus finally showed up, and I watched Paige cross the street and board.

“Um…One, two!”

“Right!  I can only do one things at a time! Be patient!”  As I stormed off to make her higness her bagel, I almost tripped over a little toy vacuum that someone had left in the middle of the living room.  “And put that toy away, please!”

She smirked.  “I only have two hands….”

A politician in the making.

