Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I have been neglecting this blog for far too long.  Life gets busy.  I have spent the past few months working on my burgeoning photography business.  It’s been all consuming.  And then we had Christmas, which is also all consuming.  I got the brilliant idea three weeks out from Christmas (with a vacation to Disney at 2 weeks before Christmas) that I was going to craft gifts for every free man, woman and child on God’s green earth.  I don’t suggest that.  If you’re going to CRAFT that many gifts, have the good sense to start more than three weeks out, with one week scrapped for vacation.

Of course, we also happen to live in the northeastern part of the country.  The part of the country that God has suddenly deemed needs to be covered with as much snow as possible as quickly as possible.  I’m typing this from a small air pocket in my house, the last possible thing that hasn’t been covered in snow.  My neighbor’s seven year old waved hi to me from over the seven or eight foot fence yesterday.  And I can tell you he was wearing red boots because his whole being was above my fence line.

I have some pictures to show the 95+” that have been dumped on our region in three weeks.

snowdogs

The doggies sit by the back door, nuzzle each other, and watch the flakes fly.

As you can see, my fence is almost gone in some places.

As you can see, my fence is almost gone in some places.

It's best to hide the pool.  We don't need any reminders of summer

It’s best to hide the pool. We don’t need any reminders of summer.

Even our swing set has almost disappeared.

Even our swing set has almost disappeared.

This is where I last left the kids playhouses so....

This is where I last left the kids playhouses so….

snow5

And, Paige. Bless her soul. “I’m going out to shovel us outta here, Mom!” Her and her shovel versus Mother Nature. Don’t tell her Mother Nature is winning. She shoveled this one path, fell into a bank on the side of the drive, where we almost lost her till spring, and she found out what the rest of us know. Shoveling sucks. She abandoned her shovel, took 15 minutes to wrestle the gate shut so the dogs could go out, and quickly retreated back inside.

“Paige, I thought you were going to shovel the driveway!” Papa said.

“I have so many other better things to be doing,” she says. Amen, Paige. Amen.

