Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Saturday morning sees Paige in the dance studio working on her technique classes.  She enjoys these classes, and even though she’s in the studio three days a week, I have yet to hear, “I don’t WANT to dance today.”

Last Saturday, as I watched from the waiting room, I see her clutching the side of her neck during barre exercises, and rolling it side to side.  Later, during floor work, I see the same thing.  In jazz technique class, I see her drop a plank to roll her neck and massage it out a minute, and then resume her plank position.

After her technique classes, we have a quick lunch, and then it’s back to the studio for auditions to see who is in which numbers for the competitions.

In the two hours of auditions, I see her rolling out her neck an additional three or four times.

On the ride home, I give her some tips about posture and kicks, and also tell her how excited I am about the Bollywood dance they’ll be in (everyone will be in that one).  They have started working on the Bollywood number and it is FAST.

“Can I practice dance when I get home?”

“You’ve been dancing since 9:00 am.  It’s now three in the afternoon.  You don’t think you’ve done enough for the day?”

“I just have a lot I need to be working on.”

“If I were you, I would work on that Bollywood dance because it doesn’t look like it’s slowing down any!” I encourage.  “Just don’t overdo it, okay?  By the way, what was going on with your neck today?  I saw you grabbing at it a few times.”

“I don’t know.  It started really bothering me a few minutes after I got into ballet.  But I heard your voice in my head saying, ‘Roll it out, suck it up and move on.'”

I laugh hysterically.

“Right?  Am I right?  I’m in the middle of a class.  Not much I can do about it except roll it out and get on with my life.”

I may need to introduce a little sympathy into my life.  Then again, I’m raising a couple of tough cookies.

